The President of the Baseball Hall of Fame, Tim Mead, announced on Tuesday evening the two former players elected to the Class of 2020. 

Larry Walker who was in his 10th and final year on the ballot was elected by just six votes to receive the mandatory 75%. Many thought that Walker would not be elected, even Walker himself was not confident of his chances tweeting earlier in the day thanking everyone for the support but that he didn’t think he would get in. 

The stigma of not being a unanimous Hall of Famer was broken when Mariano Rivera was elected with 100% of the vote. It is unfathomable to think that there is someone who is paid to write about baseball and presumably covers a team that did not vote for Derek Jeter. However, we need to take that with a grain of salt, as a baseball community we should not take anything away from the fact that Jeter was a first-ballot Hall of Famer, we should not go on a witch hunt for the voter, let them out themselves if they want to. 

Some notable jumps in voting were Billy Wagner and Scott Rolen, the two who many think will be a similar case to Larry Walker. Many experts believe that since Walker jumped almost 30% in four years that Wagner and Rolen, who are in their 5th and 3rd  years on the ballot respectively, will make a large jump sometime soon.